Mrs Susan King with students

All free schools, like Academies, are governed by not-for-profit charitable trusts, which are closely monitored by the Audit Commission to ensure that they provide good value for the public money with which they are entrusted.

In the case of Bristol Free School the Governing Body is the Board of the Russell Education Trust (RET), a Government-approved academy sponsor. Information about RET's Trustees can be found on the RET website

In each of its schools, RET formally delegates a range of its responsibilities to a Local Governing Body representing the community.  More information about this structure can be found in the RET Scheme of Delegation and the Bristol Free School Governing Body Standing Orders.

A close, consultative relationship exists between RET and the Local Governing Bodies of its schools, and the views of local governors inform all aspects of RET policy.

Bristol Free School Local Governing Body

The Bristol Free School Local Governing Body includes the Headteacher, two elected parent governors and up to ten further governors (many of whom reflect the community and, in particular, the school’s founding group, Bristol Parents’ Voice), appointed by the Trust.

Local Governors are appointed/elected for a 4 year term, and are currently as follows:

Name: Appointer/Date: Responsibilities: Date stepped down (where applicable)

Anne-Marie Boyle (Chair)

RET/April 2019



Clive Brazil (Vice Chair)

RET/April 2018



Su King

Not applicable



Karen Lynch

RET/April 2018



John Meech

RET/April 2019


Nick Hester

Elected/May 2021

Behaviour and Attendance  

James Chudy

RET/Jan 2022


Matt Annable

RET/Jan 2022


Anna Short

RET/Sept 2022


Karen Foster


Dec 2021

Dave Hale


Feb 2022

Andrew McWhan


April 2022

Karen Philips


July 2022

Contact the Governing Body

Contact should normally be through the school administrative office. 

Further Reading